Koala Extinction

Koala Extinction

Electro-acoustic composition
by Ros Bandt


Duration: 13:08 minutes


Ros Bandt

sound sculpture

Programme Note

A disturbing world on the brink of extinction. Humans pay no heed to the science through greed and inability to distribute fairly, refusing equitable and sustainable practices at great consequences to the other species and ourselves. The delicate layers of the food chain are broken through rampant exploitation. In Australia this devastation has been achieved in only 200 years ruining the careful symbiotic landcare of first Australians. This is the audible journey of how we have dug ourselves into this abyss leaving the wails of koalas to scream the terror, drought, fires, floods, polar icemelt,  shared habitat plundering towards annihilation.


The work was composed and mixed in Reaper by the composer. Raw koala recordings provided by Tony Bayliss (AWSRG) were set in the colliding submixes of the Glacial melt, an electroacoustic sub mix from the  digitalglass forest installation. A constantly changing realtime  electronically treated 6 channel sound installation was activated by kinetic glass sound tree sculptures of suspended glass. The amplified Tarhu with delay navigated the dangerous space which fed back into itself, the human not wanting to stop constantly biting its tail.

Ros Bandt multi channel sound installation, amplified tarhu with delay performance, electroacoustic composition

all sounds, images and texts © 2020 by Ros Bandt

Commissioned by the Australia-Asian Foundation, for Sonic Gallery,  thanks to Le Tuan Hung

Khai Tâm – Spiritual Initiation

For 29-stringed Vietnamese zither đàn tranh solo

Composed and performed by Đặng Kim Hiền.

Duration: 8 minutes 16 seconds


Programme Notes:

Khai Tâm [Spiritual Initiation] is the first composition from the series of twelve works for 29-stringed đàn tranh solo entitled Music of Inner Mind composed by Đặng Kim Hiền between 2015 and 2020. The experimental 29-stringed đàn tranh used in this performance was one of various instruments designed by the composer herself. Khai Tâm and other pieces in the series Music of Inner Mind weave elements of Vietnamese traditional music and sonic capabilities of the experimental đàn tranh to create a world of musical tranquility lingering in space and time.

The music is best experienced using headphones

For more information on 29-stringed đàn tranh and Đặng Kim Hiền’s music, please visit: Project 29

Khai Tâm là bài thứ nhất trong 12 bài Tâm Nhạc do Đặng Kim Hiền sáng tác cho đàn tranh 29 dây từ năm 2015 đến năm 2020. Tâm Nhạc lưu giữ tinh hoa của dòng nhạc truyền thống và khai mở một thế giới âm thanh êm dịu cho tiếng đàn tranh Việt Nam. Mỗi khúc nhạc là một không gian riêng biệt giúp thân tâm được an tĩnh trước những biến động của cuộc đời. Khai Tâm trình bày những thủ pháp truyền thống căn bản của đàn tranh trên âm vực rộng của 29 dây đàn. Tính cách dịu nhẹ và thanh thản của hơi Xuân cũng chính là linh hồn và phong cách của toàn bộ 12 bài Tâm Nhạc. Để thưởng thức đầy đủ âm thanh trầm bổng của đàn tranh 29 dây, xin nghe qua headphones.

Để tìm hiểu thêm về đàn tranh 29 dây và các sáng tác của Đặng Kim Hiền, xin vào trang: Đề Án 29

Videos, sounds and texts © 2020 by Đặng Kim Hiền

Commissioned by the Australia Asia Foundation